Cubs

Home > > Cubs

2nd Bulford Cubs

“The best part of Scouting is definitely the camps. I love every activity we do apart from swimming. They told us the pool was 24 degrees centigrade. Minus 24 more like!”

Cubs is the second section of the Scouting movement, originally started in 1916 for younger brothers who wanted a ‘look-in’. In nearly a century, the section has constantly evolved and adapted its programme and methods to meet the changing needs of each generation of young people, and these days admits girls as well as boys.

Cubs meet on Wednesdays, 6:00pm to 7:30pm.

 


Be Prepared Bag

At 2nd Bulford we ask the Cubs to have a “Be Prepared” Bag and bring it each week to Cubs. The contents aim to cover anything they will need to carry out various activities, e.g. Hikes.

The bag should be in the form of a small ruck-sack (day bag) or small holdall with shoulder strap.

Contents:

Rope *
Glowstick *
Warm clothes
Waterproof coat
Personal First Aid Kit
Drink
Torch
Notebook *
Pencil *

(* These items are supplied by 2nd Bulford)

A small quantity of day sacks are available to borrow from 2nd Bulford.


Programme

The word ‘Programme’ in Scouting refers to the range of activities, challenges and experiences that young people experience in Scouting. This programme of activities is planned by the leadership team in partnership with young people. The Programme should be flexible and have room to adapt and accommodate the needs of the individuals in the section.

The Scouting Programme for all sections is based around three main themes: outdoor and adventure, world and skills. In each section a range of badges and awards support all aspects of Scouting, including the main themes: leadership, teamwork and personal development. The Programme should be delivered in a balanced way that incorporates elements from each theme, to offer young people the most interesting and diverse experience.

Jan to Apr 2020

Date

Activity

Zone

Comments

Wed 08 Jan

Pack forum

Wide game

Outdoor and Adventure, Skills

 

Wed 15 Jan

Scrapheap Challenge

Skills

Clean cardboard and plastic bottles required for modelling.

Sat 18 Jan

District Scrapheap Challenge

Skills

Dennis Marsh House, Salisbury. 1.45pm – 4.00pm. Details to follow

Wed 23 Jan

Chinese New Year

World

Kaa to lead

Sun 26 Jan

Stonehenge Stomp

Outdoor and Adventure

Hike around Amesbury and Stonehenge area. Details already sent out

Wed 29 Jan

Knots & Lashings

Outdoor and Adventure, Skills

Red Fang to lead

Wed 05 Feb

Digital Maker

Skills

 

Wed 12 Feb

Valentine’s day makes

Outdoor and Adventure, Skills

 

Sat 15 Feb

District 5-A-Side Football

Outdoor and Adventure,

Skills

Chaffyn Grove School, Salisbury. Details to follow.

Wed 19 Feb

Founders Day

Outdoor and Adventure,

World

(School holiday)

Wed 26 Feb

Air Activities

Outdoor and Adventure, Skills

 

Wed 04 Mar

Environmental Conservation

Outdoor and Adventure,

World

 

Wed 11 Mar

Emergency Aid

Outdoor and Adventure, Skills

 

Sat 14 Mar

District Swimming Gala

Outdoor and Adventure,

Skills

Five Rivers Leisure Centre, Salisbury. Details to follow.

Wed 18 Mar

Naturalist Part 1

Outdoor and Adventure,

World 

Painting led by Kaa

Sun 22 Mar

Mother’s Day Church Parade

World

Cubs to be at hut for 10:00 to parade to the church & will be ready to leave by 11:30. All are welcome to stay. 

Wed 25 Mar

Naturalist Part 2

Outdoor and Adventure, World

 

Sat 28 Mar

District Chess Competition

Skills

Dennis Marsh House, Salisbury. Details to follow.

Wed 1 Apr

Pioneering

Outdoor and Adventure, Skills

Led by Red Fang

Fri 03 to Sun 05 Apr

Spring Camp

 

Outdoor and Adventure, Skills

World

Details to follow

 

Wed 8 Apr

Map reading Hike

Outdoor and Adventure, Skills

World

(School holiday)

Wed 15 Apr

Cubs Got Talent

Skills

(School holiday)

Wed 22 Apr

Air Rifle Shooting

Outdoor and Adventure, Skills

 

Wed 29 Apr

 

District Athletics Event

Outdoor and Adventure, Skills

Salisbury Athletics Track. Details to follow.

FUTURE EVENTS:

Sat 9 May 2020 Jamboree On The Trail (JOTT)

Fri 24 – Sun 26 July 2020 Summer Camp

Sat 19 Sep 2020 District trip to Brownsea Island

 

Programme Zones:
There are three themes
Outdoor and Adventure, World, Skills

(Please note that all dates are subject to change)